Thoughts on a better process…

First and foremost do what energizes you. If you dread the work you’re doing you’re doing the wrong work. Find something that you can sink your teeth into and it make your own. It doesn’t have to be glamorous and it doesn’t have to be what everyone else assumes it should be. It just has to capture your passion.

The next step is to take all the stuff that nobody wants to do and outsource it…

SACRILEGE!

I know… I know. Bear with me and let’s be honest about what we are after.

If it’s to go somewhere for 9 hours each day (more if you count drive time) and grind out a bunch of drawings for 6 hours and think about what you’re making for 2 hours then okay… I guess that’s acceptable. Sounds boring to me but people get pleasure out of the most random things so who am I to judge (though of course that’s what I just did and if you are offended well… sorry about that).

We are all in search of passion… even if we don’t know it. What drives me are conversations that spark new ideas and broaden scope. I know someone passionate about sustainability and another who gets a kick out of thinking about how to make our clients happy. Of course most people in the profession would like to think of themselves as Designers (note the capital “D”) and if they have the talent, then by all means… design away! I don’t think I know a single person who gets up in the morning and can’t wait to come to work excited about making drawings. I used to think that was me but I later realized that what I was really doing was looking for better ways to use our tools.

The drawings are almost always a means to an end and not the end themselves. There are other, better ways, to understand what you are making. You do not have to make the drawing to understand the drawing… just like you don’t have to show every brick in a wall to know if the wall courses.

I know it goes against what we’ve been telling ourselves for all these years but what if it was true? What if you could have more fun and understand the work more completely by doing something else? I don’t know what that something else is… it depends too much on the project but I can make a couple guesses.

* Models – both digital and physical, small and large scale… full scale?
* Artistic – painting, sculpture, photographic… video?
* Textual – poetry, prose, fiction… biographical?

Any of these would tell you more about your project than any drawing you might think to make… and yes, some of this will entail making a drawing or two (or more) but that’s not the point. The point is that you are not drawing for the sake of drawing.

The final step is to take whatever it is you have decided to work on and push it right to the edge… maybe even over the edge.

Remarkable comes from the edges. Ordinary is everything short of that.

One Response to Thoughts on a better process…

  1. First and foremost do what energizes you.
    [cue the pr0nst@r jokes… ]

    who am I to judge (though of course that’s what I just did and if you are offended well… sorry about that).
    as long as you’re paid to do that…

    Of course most people in the profession would like to think of themselves as Designers (note the capital “D”) and if they have the talent, then by all means… design away!
    aha. but what talent do they have?

    I don’t think I know a single person who gets up in the morning and can’t wait to come to work excited about making drawings. I used to think that was me but I later realized that what I was really doing was looking for better ways to use our tools.
    forget about the mouse! lets make a better cat!

    What if you could have more fun and understand the work more completely by doing something else? * Textual – poetry, prose, fiction… biographical?
    “and another thing. Why are so many books on the non-fiction bestseller list actually fiction?”

    be a snarky designer, and the money will follow?

Leave a Reply

