Revit Experience

Revit is essentially a database and as a fellow Revitter has written, “you can’t accidentally create a database”.

I’m afraid that there is very little anyone can do to “save” a project in Revit. Just today I had a virgin user ask me how to remove the Level tags from a View… was it okay to delete them? Luckily for me he asked… if he had deleted them the project would have been screwed and there would have been almost nothing I could do to fix the problem (short of recreate a large portion of the model).

The only way that I can be confident this sort of mistake doesn’t happen is to have a certain level of confidence in those working in the model. I think we’ve all seen and experienced how this can negatively impact a project in AutoCAD… not imagine that multiplied 10 times.

One ignorant user (and I use that word without malice) can absolutely ruin a project to the point where little, if anything, can be done. How someone obtains the experience necessary to know what to do and what not to do is another question… my personal opinion is that they gain that experience someplace other than on the project.

One Response to Revit Experience

  1. L4 says:

    a virgin user ask me how to remove the Level tags from a View

    use visibility?

    my personal opinion is that they gain that experience someplace other than on the project.
    and employers don’t like to train …

    if he had deleted them the project would have been screwed and there would have been almost nothing I could do to fix the problem (short of recreate a large portion of the model).
    [“he”? i think you may be sexist.. 🙂 ]
    hmmm, I know there must be “constant” backup systems available for high value data (eg, GOP email). at worst, any work done after the revit project was trashed will be lost. (otoh, who could do much work on a suddenly trashed file?)

    or is this fragility complicated by a collaboration setup in revit? (I’m quite ignorant about this, and I use that word without malice 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

