Ego?

That last post got me thinking – it isn’t really what I was trying to say. My head is still buzzing about the subject (a sure sign I’m leaving stuff out). Then it hit me… I wasn’t writing a post about other people’s egos I was writing a post about my ego! <shock-horror-shock>

It’s probably documented somewhere in some study done by some university or another how much people disdain change but I like to pretend that study was never done. I like to believe that all people need is convincing of the brilliance of a new idea, strategy or process. And when they don’t see the light I, like many I suspect, become a wee bit frustrated at it all.

Thing is… nobody cares about what you think is so damn important and hopping up and down all day screaming about it (metaphorically of course) isn’t going to change that.

It’s a hard thing to remember and harder still to do something about. I know intellectually that, to succeed, you have to find products for your customers instead of customers for your products (or in Architecture speak… ideas for your clients instead of clients for your ideas). You have to know what they want and need and work to find ways to give it to them. Sometimes I think they know what they’re looking for… most of the time they don’t. They’re happy in their ignorance.

I have what I am sure is a tremendous idea about how we could start to change the process. How we could produce better work and be more fulfilled in our careers. Only do what you absolutely want to do… outsource or hire for the rest. You love designing? Great… go design… leave the contracts, documentation and specification writing to someone else. Spending less time on these other areas that you’re not as interested in (read: not passionate about, not focused on, not good at) will allow you to spend more time working on what you are interested in (read: passionate about, focused on, good at).

It may be hard to believe that there are others out there that want, really want, to do what you don’t. It may be difficult to find them and they may occasionally be a little more expensive than you’re prepared for. It may hard to believe but this is exactly what you need to do today to have success. Look to other industries and companies for guidance… Apple doesn’t build their computers… and Toyota doesn’t make the parts in their cars… someone else does. What makes these companies remarkable is their ideas not the work they do or the things they make (okay… so maybe that last bit is a little off cause they do sell things we buy… but they don’t make them, that’s the point).

So if I can’t get this idea across to my compatriots it’s my fault for not trying hard enough… not working at the sell. Maybe I should outsource the grunt work behind my idea? Maybe I should take my own advice… nah…. <jk>

One Response to Ego?

  1. L4 says:

    [u gotta have some ego, for self defense]

    I like to believe that all people need is convincing of the brilliance of a new idea, strategy or process.
    everyone loves change… when it’s their own ideas/revelations. 🙂

    to succeed, you have to find products for your customers instead of customers for your products (or in Architecture speak… ideas for your clients instead of clients for your ideas).
    imo, peeps should be careful about the word “success”. (extreme eg, was joe stalin “successful”?)
    i suspect that the biggest obstacle to design success that designers tend to have is that the client is not the end user.

    outsource or hire for the rest. You love designing? Great… go design… leave the contracts, documentation and specification writing to someone else.
    leave the marketing and bookkeeping to someone else.
    aren’t specs part of the design?
    unfortunately there’s a proportional excess of peeps who want to design.

    Apple doesn’t build their computers… and Toyota doesn’t make the parts in their cars
    yesssss, butttt we know they need to “micromanage” their contractors. (I’m reminded of your hvac conceptuals post (above). Also similar: the difference between work provided by sub-supplied shop drawings vs CDs by designer.)
    I guess big corps have hired accountants to (claim to) work out which tasks are done cheaper inhouse vs outhouse.

    So if I can’t get this idea across to my compatriots it’s my fault for not trying hard enough… not working at the sell. Maybe I should outsource the grunt work behind my idea?
    yeah, outsource sales. 🙂

Leave a Reply

